Oh Snap!

 

The other day I was walking by the riverside wishing I had my digital slr camera at hand so I could take a few snaps of whatever I thought was worth it. Little did I know what was about to happen.

Being a nature enthusiast, I often find myself in places of extraordinary beauty. One of the things I like the most is going camping. When it comes to picking a campsite, I primarily look for a spot where I can fish as well. I might not be the best of fisherman, but I enjoy spending time next to the waters with my own thoughts and ideas. Taking photos of wildlife and the surroundings are also a big part of what I do when I go fishing or camping.

So, there I was, beside the river with my line in the water, taking in the surroundings while I wait for a bite. It didn’t take long, and I had my first decent size fish on the hook. It took me about 10 minutes to reel that big boy in and I was very chuffed to say the least. After a while I decide to call it a day and head back to camp, but nothing could prepare me for what I was about to witness.

As I stood on the riverbank taking in the view for the last time, an alligator popped out of the water right in front of me with a fish in its mouth. Now, normally I do not leave my house without at least one of my Sony cameras, but unfortunately this day was not a normal day. What I witnessed was so breathtaking that only a photo or video would be able to do such a moment justice.

Seeing that my trusty camera did not accompany me that day, I would like to think that the photo I would have taken, would have looked something like this…


Leave a Reply

